Posted in something different

New and Slightly Different Things

Something a bit different for this post: some news and some poetry.

This week I’m taking a bit of a break from working full-time on this project and other things. It may be that some of the more intense work, such as the coding, is on hold for a while; we shall see how I feel. There is no video this week, as it stands, but I may be able to do two next week if I’m up to it. So, I won’t be completely idle, and there are some things that I’d like to share here now.

News from the book publishing industry in The Bookseller is that publishing giant Hachette has recently acquired an app-based game design company: Neonplay. You can read the article here. The conversation has turned a lot to the digitisation of literature, at least for me, and how the publishing industry can embrace this new, apparently required, means to open books to readers. For me, given this project I am undertaking, the idea that such a publisher as Hachette is buying an app company for the potential of not only developing new games but integrating app gaming and books is a promising one. At its most basic level, it opens out the potential for my career prospects, whilst in its perhaps most exciting terms I could have companies interested in my project and wanting to take it on. Of course, I have to pull it off first! But the idea that there may be a serious future for what I’m doing makes me feel a lot better than I have been. Being on the cusp of something this important is definitely motivation.

The book reading is continuing; I’m currently on The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin and the audiobook of Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin. I think I’m very fortunate so far in finding books that are thoroughly enjoyable. Once I get back in the full saddle, there will be the corresponding video reviews on YouTube. You can check out my previous videos, if you haven’t already. Also, I’ve been posting some project-related stuff on Instagram, if you want to take a look at that – I’m wondering about setting up a separate account for the project. What do you guys think?

As for the social media anthropology course I’m taking, I’ll update you on Friday about how that’s going.

One thing that was a really nice change of pace this week, and has brought some loveliness into my life was the chance to see our Poet Laureate, Carol Ann Duffy, along with Welsh National Poet Gillian Clarke and Scottish Makar Jackie Kay. After the abuse of studying poetry at GCSE level (it felt like abuse at the time), I haven’t been one for poetrybook at all. However, after a year of dabbling in writing it myself, and being introduced to the beautiful words of Sylvia Plath and Allen Ginsberg, the opportunity to see the current greats of poetry seemed something worthwhile. And it really was. With the beautiful and comedic musical interludes and introductions of John Sampson, the both entertaining and heart-breaking poems of Bath poet R V Bailey and the exquisite variety of poetry from Imtiaz Dharker, it really was a great evening. I was literally laughing and crying throughout, and moved with a strange understanding that only seems to come from the best poetry. I hope that in the future I can continue to go to events like these and be captured by the spirit of it all. If you live in the UK and want to see, the Shore to Shore tour continues until the 2nd July, and you can find out more information on the Pan MacMillan site.

As I said, I will be posting again on Friday, so look out for that.

 

Leave a Reply

